USA wins first edition of United Cup


The very first victory at the United Cup was secured by the United States national team.

In Sydney, at the Ken Rosewall Arena, in the final of the United Cup, the teams of America and Italy played against each other.

In the first match of the series, Jessica Pegula defeated Martina Trevisan convincingly, while Lorenzo Musetti retired from the match against Frances Tiafoe after losing the first set.

Consequently, Taylor Fritz’s victory against Matteo Berrettini in a close two-tiebreak match proved decisive. The USA took a 3-0 lead in the series and killed the championship intrigue in the remaining two meetings.

Team USA is champion of United Cup.
Team USA is champion of United Cup.

“It’s great. Winning this tournament is very important for our team. We came here to play with high expectations. I am happy that it was my victory that brought the championship.”

– said Fritz after defeating Berrettini.

The United States team dominated for two weeks in Australia. In the best-of-five series, they did not lose two matches against any team.

Taylor Fritz was undoubtedly the best in the tournament. He defeated two members of the Top 10 along the way, Casper Ruud and Hubert Hurkacz.

He missed nine break points against Berrettini in the final, but that didn’t stop him from showing a solid performance in the tiebreaks.

The United Cup ended with a formal matchup between Madison Keys and Lucia Bronzetti. Keys didn’t cause any problems here either and made the Americans’ lead in the final series even more comfortable. Madison won five out of five matches in the tournament.

“When everyone runs to congratulate you after a victory, it’s a great feeling. I don’t know if you noticed, but Tiafoe hit me in the head at this point.”

– said Fritz.

The USA team has a total of 22 victories in this tournament. They lost only two matches.

The United Cup was held from December 29 to January 8. The idea of combining the men’s and women’s tournaments came after the first three editions of the ATP Cup proved successful.

About The Author

Table of Contents

Premier League
La Liga
Ligue 1

Access our streaming platform